Yesterday and Today

My art career was effectively ended by my own hand  somewhere in 2001. I want to say around the month of July. I did a full page Illustration for a magazine which I believe was called Utah Business Monthly. It wasn’t my best work, I was uninspired and don’t feel I gave one hundred percent. Earlier in the year I had taken out a page in the Directory of Illustration, which in hindsight was a big mistake. Until this point I had done targeted postcard mailings to magazines and book publishers I feel my work would be best suited to. The results were not overwhelming but it was a steady build. With the lack of response from the directory and the poor work on the Utah job i was in a bad place. I was also working in NYC at the time doing a job I liked but didn’t love. The commute was long, the money wasn’t great and after almost eight years in the city I was feeling burned out from almost every direction. 

I was on my way to getting a promotion at work. I was to become a full member of the photo department instead of the studio assistant job I had currently held. I would have more focus, better pay, maybe a new attitude. This was the end of Summer of 2001. The events of September 11th took place and my world along with everyone else’s was turned upside down. My offices were located only a few blocks from the World Trade Center. I took either the 6 train downtown or the N train to the WTC to go to work. 

Sometime in the future I may recount that entire day. It is burned into my memory in a series of still photos that still play in my head like a slide show from time to time. 

For now I will share a comic strip I did that briefly recounts the day. The “I’ll Kick your Ass” strip is something I have brought back from the college days. This isn’t the greatest introduction as it is not a typical strip. i will share more of them also in the future. Image

About asskickinjim

Painter, Illustrator and cartoonist on a journey to find out how art fits into his life http://on.fb.me/WVIjAl
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

