Intuition: Gift or Curse?

I posted this blog title as a Facebook update recently. I received one answer: Usually both.

Intuition: 1. quick and ready insight 2. the power or faculty of knowing things without conscious reasoning

I was hoping for some more insight or opinion but apparently it didn’t pique enough interest  to be commented on. I ask because I feel I have an uncanny sense of intuition.

In the world of art is most certainly a gift. It has guided me when I was at a standstill. It has taken over when the color choices don’t seem obvious or clear when looking at the palette. The subconscious guides the brush, how much pressure to be using, when to take a step back and observe before moving ahead, when to take a break whether it be ten minutes or an hour. I don’t consider myself an especially talented artist in a technical sense. What I lack in fundamentals I have made up for using color and shape. My intuition and emotions have served me well.

In my everyday personal life I see my intuition as more of a curse. It is like my own “Spider Sense”  an easy reference for any of you comic book fans out there. No, I cannot predict Hurricanes or Bank Robberies but I sometimes see events unfolding before my eyes that I am helpless to stop.

This happened a few weeks ago. I saw something playing out before me, something I had sensed for weeks and was helpless to stop and absolutely unable to avoid. I was however as prepared as I could be, even though things ended up worse than I had imagined they would.

It was a fool me twice situation. I am certain there won’t be a third time. I won’t let there be. I may come off poorly in trying to avoid that outcome but I am also thinking I have moved on to the point where if it were to arise again I might not care all that much.

After this particular night was over I didn’t really know how to feel. I wasn’t sure I had the right to feel anything. I looked at it almost as if I had just been done a big favor. Things were clear. Like a line drawn in the sand. I wasn’t all that sad or angry (only at myself somewhat). It was a freeing experience in a sense. It has allowed me to move on almost to where I need to be. If this same thing were to have happened even a few months prior I can’t say the end results would have been the same.

I have taken this learning experience and used it to my advantage. It has set me on a course that I think will take me to where I need to be. I will blog about that journey soon.

I will also continue to accept my intuitive gift/curse and hope it leads me down more positive paths than negative.

About asskickinjim

Painter, Illustrator and cartoonist on a journey to find out how art fits into his life http://on.fb.me/WVIjAl
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

